I try to avoid gluten. I try to avoid wheat. But more than anything, I try to avoid sugar and dairy. This last requirement is what makes finding breads and wraps a bit of a challenge.

Then I found Food For Life Brown Rice Tortillas.

They’re mostly known for their sprouted grain breads like Ezekiel bread. And while I like the Ezekiel bread, the wheat in it doesn’t necessarily like me.

That’s where the brown rice tortillas come in.

INGREDIENTS: Whole Grain Brown Rice Flour, Filtered Water, Tapioca Flour, Safflower Oil, Rice Bran, Vegetable Gum (xanthan, cellulouse), Sea Salt.

  • Gluten-free
  • Wheat-free 
  • Dairy-free
  • TASTE GREAT!

They’re not bad straight out of the fridge, but I personally prefer to warm them up . I just pop them in the toaster oven on about 300 degrees for a few minutes.

 

Here are a few of my favorite ways to serve:

FOR BREAKFAST:
When I’m after something quick and satisfying that I can eat while I”m running around getting ready to go out or take to work with me, I take one out of the freezer, break it in half and stick it in the toaster oven for a few minutes on each side til it just starts getting crispy. Top it with almond butter and it’s an instant crunchy and healthy breakfast.

FOR A WRAP:
One of my favorite “sandwiches” uses the brown rice tortillas, hummus, tomato and tempeh. Something about the flavor combination is sooo wonderful. There’s a bit of a spiciness to the wrap, the nutiness of the tempeh, the garlicy goodness of the hummus and the cool tomato. Again, I stick them in the oven just to warm them up a little. Be careful, they get crispy quickly! Slather them with any flavor hummus, chopped tomatoes and tempeh that’s been sauteeed.

I’ve also had them at a restaurant where they make the wrap, roll it up, then put it on a flat top so it gets crispy and warm with the fillings inside. Amazing that way too!

FOR “PIZZA”
These wraps are awesome as a crust for pizza!

I’ve topped them with roasted veggies, just a little tomato and Portobello mushrooms, onions and artichokes. Anything goes! I just spray on a little olive oil from a mister, usually sprinkle a bit of garlic powder then the toppings and again pop it in the oven for a few minutes. What I love about these things is that there are no rules! Leave them til they reach the desired degree of crispiness and you’re good to go.

FOR A SNACK:
I’m a bit of a guacamole freak and I’m always looking for something remotely healthy to eat with my guac. That’s where these tortillas are a match made in heaven. As I keep saying, they crisps up perfectly to use as chips. There’s a bit of a spiciness to them that are a great compliment to the coolness of the avocado. So, leave those fried and processed chips in the bag and make your own with brown rice tortillas!

FOR DESSERT:
Yes, these fabulous multi-use flat delights are great for dessert too! Seriously! When’s the last time you found a food that was this multi-functional?

This time, though, when I put them in the toaster oven, I put a few carob chips on there to melt them. Once they melt, take them out, spread the carob, top with almond butter and enjoy! They are delish! You could probably also top them with almond butter and banana (and carob 🙂 )

 If you’re looking for a great gluten and wheat free wrap, I highly recommend running out to pick these up. Most places keep them in the freezer, but at Whole Foods I’ve seen them in the refridgerated section with the hummus (hint, hint). And, even better, unlike a lot of the healthier breads out there, these are very reasonably priced.

ENJOY!